Kōrero: Wellington region

Wellington Fault

Wellington Fault

Wellington is crossed by three main faults: Pukerua, Ōhariu, and Wellington. This early 1990s view shows the Wellington Fault. It runs through the Zealandia (Karori Sanctuary) valley – containing two reservoirs – and the suburbs of Kelburn and Thorndon. It then forms the western edge of Wellington Harbour and the Hutt Valley. Because of fears that the reservoirs could be breached in a strong earthquake, the upper reservoir was decommissioned in 1991 and later lowered.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

GNS Science
Reference: CN17492
Photograph by Lloyd Homer

Permission of GNS Science must be obtained before any use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Maclean, 'Wellington region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/13150/wellington-fault (accessed 24 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Chris Maclean, updated 1 Aug 2015