Kōrero: Canterbury region

Remembering the first four ships

Remembering the first four ships

Before the 2011 earthquake, the aisle of the Christchurch Cathedral commemorated the English and Anglican origins of Canterbury with these romanticised images of the ‘first four ships’ – the Randolph, Cressy, Sir George Seymour and Charlotte Jane. The Canterbury Association aimed to create an English settlement centred on the Anglican faith, with people from all social classes. The first settlers arrived at Lyttelton on four ships in 1850. In Canterbury it is regarded as a distinction to be descended from these pioneers.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Jock Phillips

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John Wilson, 'Canterbury region - Discovery and settlement', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/10317/remembering-the-first-four-ships (accessed 20 July 2024)

He kōrero nā John Wilson, reviewed & revised 6 Jul 2015