Kōrero: Coins and banknotes

Yellow-eyed penguin commemorative coin

Yellow-eyed penguin commemorative coin

Commemorative coins are issued by the state-owned Reserve Bank and New Zealand Post to mark special occasions, events, people and wildlife. In 2011, $5 yellow-eyed penguin (hoiho) coins were issued to showcase this endangered native species. 2,000 of these copper-nickel coins were minted.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Post

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Coins and banknotes - Commemorative currency and collecting', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/object/36416/yellow-eyed-penguin-commemorative-coin (accessed 21 February 2024)

He kōrero nā Kerryn Pollock, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012