Story: Coins and banknotes

Yellow-eyed penguin commemorative coin

Yellow-eyed penguin commemorative coin

Commemorative coins are issued by the state-owned Reserve Bank and New Zealand Post to mark special occasions, events, people and wildlife. In 2011, $5 yellow-eyed penguin (hoiho) coins were issued to showcase this endangered native species. 2,000 of these copper-nickel coins were minted.

Using this item

New Zealand Post

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Coins and banknotes - Commemorative currency and collecting', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 27 January 2022)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, published 20 Jun 2012