Kōrero: Banking and finance

Colonial Bank of issue £5 note (1 o 4)

Colonial Bank of issue £5 note

Apart from the years 1850–1856, trading banks issued their own bank notes until the Reserve Bank of New Zealand was established in 1934. In 1850 the government set up a bank of issue with a monopoly on issuing bank notes. It aimed to ensure there was sufficient and stable currency. However, the public was suspicious about exchanging coin for the bank’s notes. The enterprise was unprofitable; mostly because it had to hold reserves in the United Kingdom where interest rates were much lower than in New Zealand. The Bank Paper Currency Act of 1856 again allowed trading banks to issue bank notes and the Colonial Bank of Issue was wound up.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Reserve Bank of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

David Tripe, 'Banking and finance - Banking and finance to 1984', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/object/26392/colonial-bank-of-issue-ps5-note (accessed 17 April 2024)

He kōrero nā David Tripe, i tāngia i te 11 Mar 2010