Kōrero: Central and South-eastern Europeans

The Austro-Hungarian Empire

The Austro-Hungarian Empire

Through the 19th century much of Central and South-east Europe was ruled from Vienna, the seat of the Hapsburg Empire, known as the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1867. Its provinces, shown in this map, were inhabited by many different nationalities. After defeat in the First World War, the empire was dissolved. Austria and Hungary separated, and parts of the empire joined Italy, Romania, the restored Poland and the new states of Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia. In the 1990s the component states of Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia became independent.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John Wilson, 'Central and South-eastern Europeans - Immigration history', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/967/the-austro-hungarian-empire (accessed 23 July 2024)

He kōrero nā John Wilson, i tāngia i te 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2015