Story: Central and South-eastern Europeans

The Austro-Hungarian Empire

The Austro-Hungarian Empire

Through the 19th century much of Central and South-east Europe was ruled from Vienna, the seat of the Hapsburg Empire, known as the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1867. Its provinces, shown in this map, were inhabited by many different nationalities. After defeat in the First World War, the empire was dissolved. Austria and Hungary separated, and parts of the empire joined Italy, Romania, the restored Poland and the new states of Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia. In the 1990s the component states of Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia became independent.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Wilson, 'Central and South-eastern Europeans - Immigration history', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 February 2023)

Story by John Wilson, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2015