Kōrero: Other Western Europeans

Portugal, Spain, Gibraltar and Malta

Portugal, Spain, Gibraltar and Malta

New Zealand’s immigrants have come overwhelmingly from a small number of Western European countries, notably Britain, the Netherlands, Germany and Scandinavia. Other Western European countries contributed comparatively few people to the inflow of immigrants – only a small proportion of New Zealanders trace their ancestry back to Portugal, Spain and Belgium, or to Gibraltar (a British possession) or Malta (which was British until 1964).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John Wilson, 'Other Western Europeans - Other nationalities', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/890/portugal-spain-gibraltar-and-malta (accessed 6 July 2022)

He kōrero nā John Wilson, i tāngia i te 8 Feb 2005, updated 25 Mar 2015