Kōrero: Irish

County of origin of Irish immigrants, 1916–45 (5 o 5)

County of origin of Irish immigrants, 1916–45

In 1921 the six north-eastern counties remained part of the United Kingdom as Ulster, while the rest of Ireland achieved independence. This political development intensified the tendency for growing proportions of Irish immigrants to New Zealand to come from the Protestant north.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Sample of death registers, ‘Peopling’ project, Ministry for Culture and Heritage Wellington

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jock Phillips, 'Irish - Migration after 1870', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/39/county-of-origin-of-irish-immigrants-1916-45 (accessed 4 October 2023)

He kōrero nā Jock Phillips, i tāngia i te 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2015