Story: Irish

County of origin of Irish immigrants, 1916–45 (5th of 5)

County of origin of Irish immigrants, 1916–45

In 1921 the six north-eastern counties remained part of the United Kingdom as Ulster, while the rest of Ireland achieved independence. This political development intensified the tendency for growing proportions of Irish immigrants to New Zealand to come from the Protestant north.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Sample of death registers, ‘Peopling’ project, Ministry for Culture and Heritage Wellington

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'Irish - Migration after 1870', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 April 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2015