Kōrero: Government and agriculture

Alienation of Māori land in the North Island to 1860 (1 o 2)

Alienation of Māori land in the North Island to 1860

Until 1860, European settlement in the North Island was clustered in the Bay of Islands and far north, Auckland, New Plymouth, Whanganui, Wellington, Wairarapa and Hawke’s Bay.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Claudia Orange, Illustrated history of the Treaty of Waitangi. Wellington: Bridget Williams Books, 2001, p. 318.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Tony Nightingale, 'Government and agriculture - Land purchase and early farming regulations, 1840–1876', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/18043/alienation-of-maori-land-in-the-north-island-to-1860 (accessed 29 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Tony Nightingale, i tāngia i te 24 Nov 2008