Kōrero: Gemstones

Chalcedony and agate

Chalcedony consists of microscopic crystals of quartz, so small that they can only be seen under the microscope. Different coloured forms are given different names; for example, carnelian is reddish. Agate is a specific form of chalcedony that has parallel banding.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Alastair McLean

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jocelyn Thornton, 'Gemstones - Quartz', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/5122/chalcedony-and-agate (accessed 26 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Jocelyn Thornton, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006