Story: Gemstones

Chalcedony and agate

Chalcedony consists of microscopic crystals of quartz, so small that they can only be seen under the microscope. Different coloured forms are given different names; for example, carnelian is reddish. Agate is a specific form of chalcedony that has parallel banding.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Alastair McLean

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jocelyn Thornton, 'Gemstones - Quartz', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 30 March 2023)

Story by Jocelyn Thornton, published 12 Jun 2006