Kōrero: Historic earthquakes

Extent of shaking, Īnangahua earthquake, 24 May 1968 (1 o 2)

The Modified Mercalli scale (from 1 to 12) measures earthquakes by the intensity of shaking observed. This map shows the extent of shaking from the Īnangahua earthquake of 24 May 1968. From an intensity of 8 at the epicentre near Īnangahua Junction, 40 kilometres east of Westport, the isoseismal lines spread outwards. Although the most damaging shaking was on the northern part of the West Coast, the earthquake was felt over much of New Zealand.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: G. L. Downes, Atlas of isoseismal maps of New Zealand earthquakes. Lower Hutt: Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences, 1995.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Eileen McSaveney, 'Historic earthquakes - The 1968 Īnangahua earthquake', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/4522/extent-of-shaking-inangahua-earthquake-24-may-1968 (accessed 13 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Eileen McSaveney, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2011, updated 1 Nov 2017