Kōrero: Earthquakes

Extent of shaking, 1942 Wairarapa earthquake

Unlike the magnitude scale, which measures the size of an earthquake at its epicentre, the modified Mercalli scale measures the intensity of shaking felt by people on the ground. From observations gathered after an earthquake, it is possible to draw lines of intensity that radiate outwards from the epicentre. These lines, known as isoseismals, are represented by numbers from 1 to 12.

This map shows isoseismal lines drawn from observations of the 1942 Wairarapa earthquake. The greatest effects (measuring 8) were felt at the epicentre, reducing to 4 at the outer margins. The places where people reported the different intensities are also numbered 1–9. The earthquake did extensive damage to buildings in Wairarapa townships. In Wellington windows were shattered, masonry fell from buildings, and 20,000 chimneys were damaged.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: G. L. Downes, Atlas of isoseismal maps of New Zealand earthquakes. Lower Hutt: Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences, 1995.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Eileen McSaveney, 'Earthquakes - What causes earthquakes?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/4407/extent-of-shaking-1942-wairarapa-earthquake (accessed 17 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Eileen McSaveney, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, reviewed & revised 1 Aug 2017