Kōrero: Fiction

New Zealand fiction award winners

Before 1996 there were two major New Zealand literary prizes, the New Zealand Book Awards (1976–95) and the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards (1968–93). The Goodman Fielder Wattie awards had only a single category covering fiction and other genres, which is why they are not listed in this table every year. 

In 1994 winemaker Montana took over sponsorship of the Goodman Fielder Wattie Awards, which became the Montana Book Awards (1994–95). In 1996 the two awards merged to form the Montana New Zealand Book Awards (1996–2009). New Zealand Post sponsored the awards from 2010 to 2014. A new sponsor, property developer Ockham, was announced in 2015 with 2016 being the first year of the newly-named Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Lydia Wevers, 'Fiction - Contemporary fiction', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/41946/new-zealand-fiction-award-winners (accessed 27 October 2021)

He kōrero nā Lydia Wevers, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Aug 2015