Story: Fiction

New Zealand fiction award winners

Before 1996 there were two major New Zealand literary prizes, the New Zealand Book Awards (1976–95) and the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards (1968–93). The Goodman Fielder Wattie awards had a single category covering all genres, which is why there are no listings for some years. 

In 1994 winemaker Montana took over sponsorship of the Goodman Fielder Wattie Awards, which became the Montana Book Awards (1994–95). In 1996 the two awards merged to form the Montana New Zealand Book Awards (1996–2009). New Zealand Post sponsored the awards from 2010 to 2014. A new sponsor, property developer Ockham, was announced in 2015, and 2016 was the first year of the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Lydia Wevers, 'Fiction - Contemporary fiction', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Lydia Wevers, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Aug 2015