Kōrero: Rugby union

National Provincial Competition winners, 1976–2014

As this table shows, there have been a variety of formats for the NPC, but until 2011 it involved three competitions. At the top level – as in the Ranfurly Shield – Auckland and Canterbury have been the most successful teams. Since 2000 only Wellington, Waikato and Taranaki have challenged the two leading provinces.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Ron Palenski, 'Rugby union - Provincial and regional rugby since 1976', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/40019/national-provincial-competition-winners-1976-2014 (accessed 27 June 2022)

He kōrero nā Ron Palenski, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2016