Story: Rugby union

National Provincial Competition winners, 1976–2014

As this table shows, there have been a variety of formats for the NPC, but until 2011 it involved three competitions. At the top level – as in the Ranfurly Shield – Auckland and Canterbury have been the most successful teams. Since 2000 only Wellington, Waikato and Taranaki have challenged the two leading provinces.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ron Palenski, 'Rugby union - Provincial and regional rugby since 1976', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 December 2023)

Story by Ron Palenski, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2016