Kōrero: East Coast region

East Coast local government boundaries

The entire East Coast region was formed into Cook County in 1876. Gisborne borough was established a year later. Successive rural districts set up their own county governments between 1890 and 1920, followed by a phase of reunifications in the early 1960s. The remaining local authorities were joined in the Gisborne District Council in 1989.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Monty Soutar, 'East Coast region - Government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/33408/east-coast-local-government-boundaries (accessed 30 June 2022)

He kōrero nā Monty Soutar, updated 1 Mar 2015