Kōrero: Hawke’s Bay region

Local government boundary changes

Local government boundaries changed a lot in Hawke’s Bay during the late 19th and 20th centuries. In 1989 local government throughout New Zealand was reformed. Subsequently Hawke’s Bay, which had comprised six counties as well as boroughs and cities, was governed by three district councils, one city council and an overarching regional council. Southern Hawke’s Bay became part of the Tararua district and was under a different regional council.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Hawke’s Bay region - Government, education and health', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/23915/local-government-boundary-changes (accessed 30 May 2024)

He kōrero nā Kerryn Pollock, updated 1 Jul 2015