Kōrero: Land ownership

Land districts, 1877 and 2008

Until 1876 the provinces had responsibility for land legislation, but when the provinces were abolished central government took over this role. The Land Act 1877 established 10 land districts, based on the provincial boundaries, each with a Land Board and a district commissioner of lands. In 2008 there were 12 land registration districts.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Land Information New Zealand

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jim McAloon, 'Land ownership - Centralisation after 1870', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/17924/land-districts-1877-and-2008 (accessed 2 July 2022)

He kōrero nā Jim McAloon, i tāngia i te 24 Nov 2008