Story: Land ownership

Land districts, 1877 and 2008

Until 1876 the provinces had responsibility for land legislation, but when the provinces were abolished central government took over this role. The Land Act 1877 established 10 land districts, based on the provincial boundaries, each with a Land Board and a district commissioner of lands. In 2008 there were 12 land registration districts.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Land Information New Zealand

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jim McAloon, 'Land ownership - Centralisation after 1870', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 July 2024)

Story by Jim McAloon, published 24 Nov 2008