Kōrero: Sandflies and mosquitoes

Mosquito life cycle

There are four stages in the mosquito life cycle. Eggs are laid in water. Larvae (or wrigglers) hatch and swim. They then become pupae (also known as tumblers). This is a resting stage between larvae and adults. Pupae then turn into adult mosquitoes. In many species, the adult female bites humans, before she lays eggs.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Carl Walrond, 'Sandflies and mosquitoes - Mosquitoes', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/14741/mosquito-life-cycle (accessed 28 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Carl Walrond, i tāngia i te 24 Sep 2007