Story: Sandflies and mosquitoes

Mosquito life cycle

There are four stages in the mosquito life cycle. Eggs are laid in water. Larvae (or wrigglers) hatch and swim. They then become pupae (also known as tumblers). This is a resting stage between larvae and adults. Pupae then turn into adult mosquitoes. In many species, the adult female bites humans, before she lays eggs.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Carl Walrond, 'Sandflies and mosquitoes - Mosquitoes', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 July 2024)

Story by Carl Walrond, published 24 Sep 2007