Kōrero: Elections and campaigns

Election timeline (1 o 2)

Election timeline

This chart shows elections in New Zealand, who won them, and significant events that affected the outcome. Until the 1890s parliamentarians were elected as individuals, rather than as members of parties. The various factions and independent members were approached by potential leaders, with the most popular forming a ‘ministry’, generally known by the name of the man who led it. Between 1856 and 1891 there were 25 ministries, of which 19 lasted less than a year (some managed only a few months), and five lasted for more than three years. Three leaders – Edward Stafford, William Fox and Harry Atkinson – headed three or more ministries.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Bryce Edwards, 'Elections and campaigns - Election day', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/35144/election-timeline (accessed 28 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Bryce Edwards, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Jul 2016