Story: East Coast region

East Coast

The East Coast region is the easternmost part of the North Island. It has much in common with the two other regions that lie east of the North Island main range – Hawke’s Bay and Wairarapa. The whole of the East Coast is the territory of the Gisborne District Council, which includes the city of Gisborne and the rural areas of Poverty Bay and the East Coast proper, north of Gisborne.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Monty Soutar, 'East Coast region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 March 2024)

Story by Monty Soutar, updated 1 Mar 2015