Kōrero: Sculpture and installation art

Queen Victoria statues

Statues of Queen Victoria were erected in the four main centres – (left to right) Dunedin, Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland – in the very late 19th and early 20th centuries, when imperial sentiment was at its height. All were created by British sculptors and shipped to New Zealand.

All images & media in this story

Me pēnei te tohu i te whārangi:

Mark Stocker, 'Sculpture and installation art - Colonial origins', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/41959/queen-victoria-statues (accessed 24 August 2019)

Story by Mark Stocker, published 22 Oct 2014