Kōrero: Colonial and provincial government

Provincial rugby unions

When rugby became organised in the 1870s, clubs combined to form provincial unions and the use of the term ‘province’ has remained. In 2023 there were 26 provincial rugby unions, many, especially in the North Island, established in areas that were only very lightly settled when the provinces were abolished in 1876.

Teatowel © The Derek Corporation

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Miranda Wells

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - After abolition', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/35495/provincial-rugby-unions (accessed 29 February 2024)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 6 Oct 2023