Kōrero: Labour Party

First Labour cabinet, 1935

Labour swept to power in 1935, taking 53 of the 80 parliamentary seats. This photo shows its first cabinet, led by Prime Minister Michael Joseph Savage (front, third from left), who is flanked by two future prime ministers: Peter Fraser (left) and Walter Nash (right).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-055145-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Peter Aimer, 'Labour Party - First Labour government, 1935 to 1949', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/34029/first-labour-cabinet-1935 (accessed 15 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Peter Aimer, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Jan 2023