Kōrero: City history and people

Nelson – the second city

Usually a town was constituted a city when it reached a certain population threshold – 20,000 before 1989, and 50,000 thereafter. But the British monarch could also proclaim a town a city by letters patent if it was the seat of a bishop. Christchurch became a city this way in 1856, and Nelson followed in 1858. No other New Zealand town has had city status conferred by this method. Download the PDF to read a transcription of the letters patent for Nelson.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

The Anglican Diocese of Nelson

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Transcription courtesy of The Prow

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

David Thorns and Ben Schrader, 'City history and people - Towns to cities', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/23507/nelson-the-second-city (accessed 29 November 2023)

He kōrero nā David Thorns and Ben Schrader, i tāngia i te 11 Mar 2010