Kōrero: Media and politics

Leaders' debate, 2002

The TVNZ leaders' election debate in 2002 was notable for its use of 'the worm' – a device that indicated on screen the audience's immediate reactions to the speeches. The leaders involved in the debate were Prime Minister Helen Clark (Labour), Leader of the Opposition Bill English (National), Jeanette Fitzsimons (Green), Winston Peters (New Zealand First), Richard Prebble (ACT), Jim Anderton (Progressive), Laila Harré (Alliance) and Peter Dunne (UnitedFuture). 

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

TVNZ Television New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Kate McMillan, 'Media and politics - Journalists and politicians: an uneasy relationship', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/video/35758/leaders-debate-2002 (accessed 3 December 2021)

He kōrero nā Kate McMillan, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012