Kōrero: Awards and prizes

Nobel Prize winners, 2003

Nobel Prize winners, 2003

In this 2003 photo, Nobel science laureates Alan MacDiarmid (left) and Alan Heeger unveil a plaque at Victoria University of Wellington. The plaque marks the former home of an earlier Nobel laureate, Maurice Wilkins. Together with Francis Crick and James Watson, Wilkins received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1962 for discovery of the double-helix form of the DNA molecule, a form which appears on the plaque. Fellow New Zealander MacDiarmid, together with Heeger and Hideki Shirakawa, won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2000 for their discovery of conducting polymers.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Herald
Photograph by Mark Mitchell

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - General and international awards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/44702/nobel-prize-winners-2003 (accessed 17 October 2021)

He kōrero nā Mark Derby, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020