Kōrero: Athletics

100 yards, 1923

100 yards, 1923

A 100-yard race at the New Zealand amateur athletics championships between four New Zealanders, an American and an Australian in 1923 was the country's most famous and thrilling race to that date. The participants were, from left to right, Morris Kirksey (US), Dave Morgan (New Zealand), George Davidson (New Zealand), Slip Carr (Australia), Harry Wilson (New Zealand) and Arthur Porritt (New Zealand). Kirksey and Carr were not eligible for New Zealand titles, but they provided excellent competition. Kirksey was the winner, followed by the spread-eagled Carr. Porritt in third, took the New Zealand title. Porritt went on to greater things at the 1924 Olympics, when he came third in the 100 metres.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: fMS-Papers-9619-04

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

David Colquhoun, 'Athletics - Athletics between the wars', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/39936/100-yards-1923 (accessed 18 April 2024)

He kōrero nā David Colquhoun, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 20 Sep 2016