Kōrero: Amateurism and professionalism

Super Rugby, 2007

Super Rugby, 2007

Crusaders teammates Dan Carter (left) and Richie McCaw out-run downed Bulls players during a Super 14 semi-final in South Africa in May 2007 (which the Bulls eventually won, 27–12). Known as Super Rugby since 2011, the competition (originally called Super 12) is the southern hemisphere's leading professional rugby-union competition. The number of participating teams rose from 12 in 1996 to 15 in 2011 (five each from New Zealand, Australia and South Africa) and an unwieldy 18 in 2016 (with new franchises in Argentina, South Africa and Japan) before falling to 15 in 2018. Carter, McCaw and five other members of the 2007 Crusaders were selected for that year's All Black team.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Getty Images
Reference: GT74079164GI913.JPG

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Geoff Watson, 'Amateurism and professionalism - Rise of professionalism', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/38007/super-rugby-2007 (accessed 18 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Geoff Watson, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013