Kōrero: Bowls, pétanque and tenpin

Professional bowlers

Professional bowlers

Rowan Brassey, Peter Belliss and Gary Lawson, shown in Melbourne in March 2006, are three of New Zealand's greatest bowlers. They have also come into conflict with bowls authorities as they each battled to sustain a professional living as bowlers. Rowan Brassey won seven national titles and two world titles. Peter Belliss won three world championships, two Commonwealth Games bronze medals and six national titles. They both went across the Tasman to play in a Sydney competition. Payments in Australia allow bowlers to play full-time. In 2010 Gary Lawson, who had won 10 national titles and two world championships, was suspended for six months and fined $5,000 because the fours-team he skipped (led) allegedly threw an 'end' during the Asia-Pacific bowls tournament. In the subsequent controversy Brassey came out in support of Lawson and his team-mates.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 100306NZMMCG022.JPG
Photograph by Mark Mitchell

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Lindsay Knight, 'Bowls, pétanque and tenpin - Lawn bowlers and competitions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/37986/professional-bowlers (accessed 4 December 2023)

He kōrero nā Lindsay Knight, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015