Kōrero: Cabinet government

Swearing in new ministers

Swearing in new ministers

When visiting New Zealand in 1990 Queen Elizabeth II presided over the swearing-in to the Executive Council of eight new Labour ministers, who are shown here seated at the right, waiting to take part in the formal ceremony. They are (from the far end of the row) Richard Prebble, Jim Sutton, Clive Matthewson, Margaret Austin, Peter Dunne, Fred Gerbic (obscured), Ralph Maxwell and Ken Shirley.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, Dominion Post Collection (PAColl-7327)
Reference: EP/1990/0534
Photograph by Ross Giblin

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Eichbaum, 'Cabinet government - What is cabinet?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/34347/swearing-in-new-ministers (accessed 25 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Chris Eichbaum, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012