Kōrero: Cabinet government

Cabinet size: Labour cabinet, 1972 (3 o 4)

Cabinet size: Labour cabinet, 1972

Labour Prime Minister Norman Kirk (front row, left) had another 19 ministers in his 1972 cabinet, including the first Māori woman cabinet minister, Whetū Tirikātene-Sullivan. They are shown here with Governor-General Denis Blundell (seated, centre) at Government House in Wellington. Cabinets of this size would be the norm into the early 2000s.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, Evening Post Collection (PAColl-0614)
Reference: 1/4-021016-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Eichbaum, 'Cabinet government - What is cabinet?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/34345/cabinet-size-labour-cabinet-1972 (accessed 24 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Chris Eichbaum, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012