Kōrero: Political parties

Mana Party at Parliament

Mana Party at Parliament

Hone Harawira, leader of the Mana Party, is shown here in front of a crowd of Mana Party supporters in July 2011. His mother, political activist Titewhai Harawira, is at the front (in pink). Harawira had just left Parliament after an incomplete swearing in ceremony, required after he won a by-election for the Te Tai Tokerau seat. His attempt to swear loyalty to the Treaty of Waitangi rather than the queen had been firmly rejected by the speaker, Lockwood Smith.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 140711NZHMMHONE7.JPG
Photograph by Mark Mitchell

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jennifer Curtin and Raymond Miller, 'Political parties - Small parties under MMP', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/34338/mana-party-at-parliament (accessed 20 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Jennifer Curtin and Raymond Miller, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 21 Jul 2015