Kōrero: Ombudsmen and officers of Parliament

Staff of the office of the ombudsman, 1963

Staff of the office of the ombudsman, 1963

Although Sir Guy Powles was the only ombudsman for many years, he was supported by a number of staff. Pictured in 1963 they are, from left, Katu Burns (secretary), Thea Slevin (Sir Guy's personal assistant), Dick Armstrong (administration officer), Sir Guy Powles, Les Smith (legal officer) and Stuart Aikman (investigating officer).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Office of the Ombudsmen - Nga Kaitiaki Mana Tangata
Reference: Bryan Gilling, The Ombudsmen in New Zealand. Palmerston North: Dunmore Press, 1998

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

David McGee, 'Ombudsmen and officers of Parliament - Ombudsmen – maladministration', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/33098/staff-of-the-office-of-the-ombudsman-1963 (accessed 9 August 2022)

He kōrero nā David McGee, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 20 Jan 2017