Kōrero: Catholic Church

St Mary's Church, Whanganui, around 1877

St Mary's Church, Whanganui, around 1877

The first small Catholic chapel of St Mary's in Whanganui opened in 1857, mainly to serve Catholic settlers and Irish troops stationed in the town. The church in this photograph, the second St Mary's, opened in 1877. There were other Catholic missions serving Māori further up the Whanganui River. This church was closed in 1973 and a third St Mary's opened in 1977 in Campbell Street. This contains the font, stained-glass windows, statues, vessels, organ and part of the altar rails from the 1877 church.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, William James Harding Collection (PAColl-3042)
Reference: 1/1-000069-G
Photograph by William James Harding

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Rory Sweetman, 'Catholic Church - Irish settler church', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/29279/st-marys-church-whanganui-around-1877 (accessed 24 September 2021)

He kōrero nā Rory Sweetman, i tāngia i te 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 17 Jul 2018