Kōrero: Atheism and secularism

Oaths in parliament

Oaths in parliament

Māori Party MP Hone Harawira swears the oath of loyalty to the Crown in the presence of the Clerk of the House, David McGee, at the opening of Parliament on 7 November 2005. Two years later Harawira introduced an amendment to the oaths which allowed for an optional pledge to uphold the Treaty of Waitangi.

Oaths are sworn on the Bible, and typically end with the words 'so help me God'. They were sworn not only in Parliament, but also in courts of law. Those without religion opposed this. In 1884 New Zealand legislation was amended to allow an affirmation to be made in court by those who did not want to take an oath. 

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

NZPA Images
Reference: 1800
Photograph by Ross Setford

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Carl Walrond, 'Atheism and secularism - A Christian legacy', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/26191/oaths-in-parliament (accessed 2 April 2023)

He kōrero nā Carl Walrond, i tāngia i te 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 4 Apr 2018