Kōrero: Multilateral organisations

Exclusive economic zones

Exclusive economic zones

New Zealand's possession of the fourth-largest exclusive economic zone in the world, and rights to the seabed resources of the continental shelf of which it is part, results from the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). Adopted in 1982 after nearly 10 years of negotiation, UNCLOS is one of the great multilateral achievements of the 20th century. In addition to setting up the exclusive economic zone system, UNCLOS guarantees the free passage of shipping through international straits and territorial seas, and navigational freedom on the open sea. The convention is widely adhered to, including by states who have not signed it.

The map above shows New Zealand's exclusive economic zone (the central highlighted area) and its continental shelf zone (the outer highlighted area), whose boundary was agreed with Australia. In 2011 the upper right hand section of the boundary had not yet been settled with Tonga and Fiji.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Base map courtesy of GNS Science

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Rod Alley, 'Multilateral organisations - Rule-making: maritime, environmental and criminal', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/33830/exclusive-economic-zones (accessed 14 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Rod Alley, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012