Kōrero: Canterbury region

Canterbury boundaries

Canterbury boundaries

The Canterbury region as defined in this entry consists of north and mid-Canterbury, Christchurch and Banks Peninsula. The regional council, Environment Canterbury, also takes in South Canterbury and Kaikōura. The Canterbury Province of 1853 included an even wider area: it stretched to the West Coast, and encompassed the area between the Waitaki and Hurunui rivers.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John Wilson, 'Canterbury region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/10291/canterbury-boundaries (accessed 13 July 2024)

He kōrero nā John Wilson, reviewed & revised 6 Jul 2015