Kōrero: Prisons

New Zealand prisons, March 2012

This map shows the 19 prisons operating in New Zealand in March 2012, along with their inmate capacity and security rating. At that time there were three women's prisons, and the rest were for men. In March 2012 the government announced it would close Wellington (Mt Crawford) and New Plymouth prisons along with some older units at Arohata, Rolleston, Tongariro/Rangipō and Waikeria prisons. A new privately run prison would be built at Wiri, in Auckland.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Peter Clayworth, 'Prisons - New Zealand’s prisons', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/36753/new-zealand-prisons-march-2012 (accessed 16 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Peter Clayworth, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012