Kōrero: Self-government and independence

Provincial council buildings

When provincial governments were created in 1852 it was necessary to erect buildings to house them. Some were simple, utilitarian structures that reflected the small size and budgets of their province. Others were imposing edifices that conveyed the province's aspirations or wealth. None of these structures survive apart from the Southland and the Canterbury buildings (the latter was badly damaged in the 2011 Christchurch earthquake).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

W. David McIntyre, 'Self-government and independence - Responsible government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/32923/provincial-council-buildings (accessed 2 July 2022)

He kōrero nā W. David McIntyre, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012