Kōrero: Public holidays

Provincial anniversary days

This map shows the actual dates of provincial anniversaries in New Zealand. In practice, they are often celebrated on different dates – usually the closest Monday or Friday. The provinces were established as a way of governing New Zealand in the early days of British settlement, when poor communications and transport made centralised government difficult. They were abolished in 1876, but a sense of distinct identity persisted amongst people living in the regions, and the survival of provincial holidays is one manifestation of that.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Public holidays - Celebrating communities', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/32464/provincial-anniversary-days (accessed 30 September 2020)

He kōrero nā Nancy Swarbrick, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 16 Sep 2016