Kōrero: Auckland region


Auckland is New Zealand’s largest city and its most populous region, with a population of over 1.4 million in 2013. At its heart is the built-up area stretching from Ōrewa in the north to Papakura in the south and from west of Henderson to east of Howick. Beyond lie rural areas around the towns of Wellsford, Warkworth and Helensville to the north, and Clevedon, Pukekohe and Waiuku to the south. Auckland also takes in the islands of the Hauraki Gulf, including Great Barrier Island, New Zealand’s largest inshore island.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Margaret McClure, 'Auckland region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/16443/auckland (accessed 21 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Margaret McClure, updated 1 Aug 2016