Kōrero: Moa

Moa family groupings, 2009

For more than 150 years the number of moa species has been debated. In the early 20th century there were thought to be 38. By 2006 the number was 10, and by 2009 there were nine. This table identifies the nine species, organised by genus, subfamily and family. Those moa in the genera Anomalopteryx, Megalapteryx and Pachyornis were more closely related to each other than to other moa. Giant Moa in the Dinornis genus were only distantly related to all other moa. The name of the scientist who first identified the species is given in brackets if the species name subsequently changed, and without brackets if there has been no change.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Trevor H. Worthy, 'Moa - Scientific classification', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/11363/moa-family-groupings-2009 (accessed 15 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Trevor H. Worthy, i tāngia i te 24 Sep 2007, reviewed & revised 17 Feb 2015