Kōrero: Self-government and independence

Triumphal poster

Triumphal poster

This poster celebrates the Allied victory in the First World War. It includes the flags of the four British dominions – Australia, Canada, New Zealand and South Africa – all of which then sported the British ensign. Although the war ended in November 1918, the peace was not settled until June 1919 when the Treaty of Versailles was signed.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
Reference: GH014049

Permission of the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

W. David McIntyre, 'Self-government and independence - Political independence', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/ephemera/32945/triumphal-poster (accessed 1 July 2022)

He kōrero nā W. David McIntyre, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012